WhatsApp screenshot blocking on Android beta in a future update.
Weirdly enough, when almost all apps are working on protecting your privacy and security, the screenshot feature is still available on your mobile phone. You can take a screenshot of almost everything you see on your phone. May it be profile pictures, messages, or what not. Therefore, in order to provide you with a safer online chatting environment, Meta Platforms is working on WhatsApp screenshot blocking feature on Android phones. The feature is in WhatsApp beta mode currently. The Online messaging platform will block any attempt to take screenshots of ‘View Once’ images and videos. It needs to be noted that the feature of blocking screenshots will be available in a future update.
Informing about the same WABetaInfo tweeted, “WhatsApp is working on screenshot blocking on Android beta! Thanks to a future update of WhatsApp beta for Android, WhatsApp will block any attempt to take screenshots to view once images and videos!” It can be known that Mark Zuckerberg, CEO of Facebook had on August 9, 2022, announced three new privacy features to come in a new update of WhatsApp: past group participants, choose who can see when you are online on WhatsApp, and screenshot blocking.
According to a report by WABetaInfo, screenshot blocking feature was under development on WhatsApp beta for iOS but now there is news on the Android app. As far as sharing a screenshot is concerned, WhatsApp is working on a new presentation screen that introduces the new version of ‘View Once’ feature. Because of this new version it is impossible to take screenshots to View Once images and videos.
“This is a view once photo so it’s more private. It will disappear from the chat after you close it. Also, you can’t share, forward, copy, save, or take a screenshot of it,” the statement read.
However, you are advised to not to share anything sensitive on the app as the recipient may still be able to take a photo of the same using another phone or camera.
It also needs to be noted that when the recipient takes a screenshot to View Once images and videos, he/she will not be able to do so, but the sender does not receive any notification about this event having happened.